MLS Dallas

History of FC Dallas

Founded in 1996 as the Dallas Burn, the club has undergone several changes over the years before becoming FC Dallas in 2005. Let’s take a closer look at the journey of this beloved soccer team.

The Dallas Burn was one of the 10 founding members of Major League Soccer (MLS) in 1996. During its early years, the team struggled to find success and failed to qualify for the playoffs until 1999. In 2000, the Burn finally made it to the postseason but lost in the first round. The team’s fortunes continued to fluctuate, and in 2003, the Burn finished last in the Western Conference.

Team Rebrand

In 2004, the club underwent a significant rebranding and became FC Dallas. The new name and logo were meant to reflect the team’s identity as a representative of the entire North Texas region, not just the city of Dallas.

Under the new name, FC Dallas experienced a period of growth and success. In 2005, the team reached the MLS Cup playoffs for the first time as FC Dallas. Yet, they lost in the semifinals. The following year, the team won the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, which is the oldest ongoing national soccer competition in the United States.

In 2007, FC Dallas moved to Toyota Stadium (formerly known as Pizza Hut Park), a state-of-the-art soccer-specific stadium in Frisco, Texas. The move signaled the team’s commitment to growing the sport of soccer in North Texas. Additionally, it cemented its status as a top-tier MLS franchise.

Over the next few years, FC Dallas continued to build on its success, qualifying for the playoffs in 2008 and 2010. In 2016, the team won the Supporters’ Shield, which is an award given to the team with the best regular-season record in MLS.

FC Dallas has also been a trailblazer in youth development, launching the FC Dallas Academy in 2008. The academy has produced numerous top-level players, including Kellyn Acosta, Weston McKennie, and Reggie Cannon. Eventually, all of these players have gone on to represent the United States Men’s National Team.

* All odds provided by Action247 Sportsbook and all odds subject to change.