NHL Central Division Logo

NHL Central Division History

The Central Division was established in 1993 as part of the NHL’s realignment to accommodate expansion teams in Florida and California. The Central Division is part of the NHL’s Western Conference. The division originally included the Chicago Blackhawks, Dallas Stars, Detroit Red Wings, St. Louis Blues, Phoenix Coyotes (now the Arizona Coyotes), and Winnipeg Jets. Since then, the division has undergone a few changes, including the Nashville Predators joining the division in 1998. Additionally, the Winnipeg Jets rejoined in 2013 after a stint in the Southeast Division.

Over the years, the Central Division has been home to some of the NHL’s most iconic teams, players, and rivalries. For example, the Chicago Blackhawks have been a dominant force in the division. They have had six division titles. Additionally, they have had three Stanley Cup championships since the division’s inception.

The Central Division has also been home to several memorable rivalries. To begin, there was the “Show-Me Showdown” between the St. Louis Blues and Kansas City Scouts (now the New Jersey Devils). These rivalries have produced some of the most intense and exciting games in NHL history. Fans continue to pack arenas across the division to witness the action.

Division’s Best Players 

Of course, no discussion of the Central Division would be complete without mentioning some of the players who have taken its ice. From Wayne Gretzky and Mario Lemieux to Pavel Datsyuk and Patrick Kane, the division has seen some of the greatest players in NHL history.  

Whether you’re a die-hard fan of one of the division’s teams or simply a lover of hockey, the Central Division is sure to provide plenty of excitement. So why not take a trip down memory lane? Explore the rich history of this storied division.

National Hockey League Central Division

Colorado Avalanche

dallas stars

Minnesota Wild

Winnipeg Jets

Nashville Predators

St Louis Blues

Arizona Coyotes

Chicago Blackhawks

* All odds provided by Action247 Sportsbook and all odds subject to change.
**All views expressed are my own. My picks are my own and are not a guarantee, bet at your own risk.