MLS NY Red Bull

History of the New York Red Bulls 

The New York Red Bulls are a professional soccer team based in Harrison, New Jersey. First, the team was founded in 1995 as the New York/New Jersey MetroStars. Then, they played their first season in Major League Soccer (MLS) in 1996. The team was also one of the 10 charter members of the league.

Overall, the MetroStars struggled in their early years. Early on, they failed to qualify for the playoffs in each of their first seven seasons. However, the team began to turn things around in the early 2000s. This was thanks in part to the acquisition of standout players such as Clint Mathis, Amado Guevara, and Tim Howard.

Red Bull’s Ownership

In 2003, the team changed its name to the New York/New Jersey MetroStars. Next, in 2006, the team was purchased by the Austrian energy drink company, Red Bull GmbH. The team was subsequently rebranded as the New York Red Bulls and underwent a complete overhaul. Finally, they changed their logo and team colors.  

Under the Red Bulls’ ownership, the team has enjoyed some of its greatest success. The team won the Supporters’ Shield in 2013, 2015, and 2018. This was given to the team with the best regular season record in MLS. The team also won the Eastern Conference championship in 2008, 2010, and 2013. Finally, they reached the MLS Cup final in 2008.

The Red Bulls have also been known for their commitment to developing young players through their academy system. Several players who came up through the team’s academy have gone on to play for the United States men’s national soccer team. Some of these players include Tim Howard, Jozy Altidore, and Tyler Adams.

In recent years, the team has continued to be a competitive force in MLS. In the end, they have developed a reputation as one of the league’s most exciting teams to watch. To conclude, the New York Red Bulls are sure to be a major player in MLS for years to come.

* All odds provided by Action247 Sportsbook and all odds subject to change.