mls eastern conference

MLS Eastern Conference History

The Eastern Conference of Major League Soccer (MLS) has a rich history that dates back to the league’s inaugural season in 1996. Over the years, the conference has featured some of the league’s most successful and popular teams, as well as some memorable matches and moments.

When the MLS was founded in 1993, the league initially had just ten teams, split into two conferences: the Eastern Conference and the Western Conference. The Eastern Conference comprised of six teams, including the Columbus Crew, D.C. United, the New England Revolution, the New York/New Jersey MetroStars, the Tampa Bay Mutiny, and the Miami Fusion.

To begin, the Eastern Conference’s first season was an exciting one, with D.C. United emerging as the conference champions. Then, D.C. United went on to win the first-ever MLS Cup, defeating the LA Galaxy in the final.

Over the years, the Eastern Conference has seen some of the league’s most successful teams. D.C. United, in particular, has been a dominant force in the conference, winning four MLS Cups and four Supporters’ Shields. In the end, these are awarded to the team with the best regular season record.

Other successful teams in the Eastern Conference include the New England Revolution, who have reached the MLS Cup final five times. Next, there is the Chicago Fire, who have won the MLS Cup and the Supporters’ Shield.

Finally, the Eastern Conference has also seen some memorable matches and moments. In 2003, the New England Revolution faced off against the Chicago Fire in the Eastern Conference Final. In the end, this went to extra time and saw the Revolution come out on top with a dramatic golden goal.

Recent Years

In recent years, the Eastern Conference has continued to evolve and grow. In 2015, the conference expanded to include two new teams, New York City FC and Orlando City SC. This ended up bringing the total number of teams in the conference to ten. Lastly, today, that number is 15. 

Today, the Eastern Conference is home to some of the league’s most exciting and talented players. Overall, the Eastern Conference of Major League Soccer has played a significant role in the league’s history. Finally, its teams and players continue to make an impact on the sport today.

MLS Eastern Conference

Atlanta United

MLS New England

MLS Cincinnati

MLS Nashville


MLS Philadelphia

MLS Miami

MLS Toronto

MLS Orlando

MLS NY Red Bull

MLS DC United

MLS Columbus

MLS Montreal

MLS Charlotte

MLS Chicago

* All odds provided by Action247 Sportsbook and all odds subject to change.
**All views expressed are my own. My picks are my own and are not a guarantee, bet at your own risk.