San Jose Sharks

History of the San Jose Sharks 

The San Jose Sharks are a professional ice hockey team that plays in the Western Conference of the National Hockey League (NHL). Additionally, they are part of the Pacific Division. The team was established in 1991 as an expansion franchise. In the end, they have since become a formidable force in the league. Let’s take a look at the history of the San Jose Sharks, from their early days to their current success.

Early Years

The San Jose Sharks played their first game on October 4, 1991, against the Vancouver Canucks. The team struggled in their early years, finishing last in the division in their first two seasons. Despite this, the team managed to make the playoffs in their third season. Ultimately, they reached the second round before being eliminated by the Toronto Maple Leafs.

In the following years, the Sharks continued to improve but were unable to make it past the second round of the playoffs. The team’s fortunes changed in the 2003-2004 season, when they finished with the best record in the Western Conference.  They also reached the Conference Finals for the first time in franchise history. Although they lost to the Calgary Flames, the Sharks had established themselves as a team to be reckoned with.

Recent Success

In the years since their Conference Finals appearance, the Sharks have been one of the most consistent teams in the NHL. In 2016, the Sharks finally broke through, reaching the Stanley Cup Finals for the first time in franchise history. Although they ultimately fell to the Pittsburgh Penguins, the Sharks had once again cemented their status as a top team in the league.

Key Players

Over the years, the Sharks have had many talented players on their roster. Some of the most notable include Joe Thornton, who was acquired in a trade in 2005. Overall, Thornton has been one of the team’s most important players for over a decade. He has won the Hart Memorial Trophy as the NHL’s most valuable player, and has been named to the All-Star team six times.

Next, there is Patrick Marleau. Marleau is the Sharks’ all-time leader in games played, goals, and points. He spent over 19 seasons with the team before being traded in 2017.

Finally, there is Brent Burns. He has been a key member of the Sharks’ defense. In addition, Burns has won the Norris Trophy as the NHL’s best defenseman and has been named to the All-Star team six times.

The San Jose Sharks have come a long way since their early struggles in the NHL. They have established themselves as a consistent playoff team. They have also made four trips to the Conference Finals in the past 16 seasons. With a talented roster, the Sharks will continue to be a threat in the NHL for years to come.

* All odds provided by Action247 Sportsbook and all odds subject to change.