NHL Pacific Division Logo

NHL Pacific Division History

The Pacific Division was established in 1993 as part of the NHL’s realignment to accommodate expansion teams in California and Florida. The division is part of the Western Conference. The division originally included the Anaheim Ducks, Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers, Los Angeles Kings, San Jose Sharks, Seattle Kraken, and Vancouver Canucks. Since then, the division has undergone a few changes. One included the addition of the Vegas Golden Knights in 2017.

The Pacific Division has been home to some of the NHL’s most successful franchises. This includes the Los Angeles Kings, who won the division six times and two Stanley Cup championships in 2012 and 2014. The Anaheim Ducks have also been a dominant force in the division. Overall, they have won five division titles and a Stanley Cup championship in 2007.

The division has also seen some legendary players take to the ice. Some included Wayne Gretzky, who played for the Los Angeles Kings. Additionally, there is Teemu Selanne, who played for the Anaheim Ducks. The rivalry between the Ducks and the Kings has been particularly intense. In the end, the two teams compete for the “Freeway Face-Off” trophy each season.

In addition to the Ducks and the Kings, the Pacific Division has also been home to other notable rivalries. For example, there is the “Battle of Alberta” between the Calgary Flames and Edmonton Oilers. In addition, there is the “Battle of California” between the Ducks, Kings, and San Jose Sharks.

The Pacific Division has continued to be a powerhouse in the NHL. There are several of teams that consistently make the playoffs and vying for the Stanley Cup. If you’re a fan of exciting hockey action and intense rivalries, the Pacific Division is definitely one to keep an eye on.

National Hockey League Western Conference

Vegas Knights

Edmonton Oilers

LA Kings

Seattle Kraken

Calgary Flames

Vancouver Canucks

San Jose Sharks

anaheim ducks

* All odds provided by Action247 Sportsbook and all odds subject to change.
**All views expressed are my own. My picks are my own and are not a guarantee, bet at your own risk.