orlando magic

History of the Orlando Magic

The Orlando Magic have a relatively short history in the NBA and the Eastern Conference. To start, they entered the league as an expansion team in 1989. Despite this, they have had some notable success throughout the years. The Magic made their first NBA Finals appearance in 1995. At the finals, they were led by superstar center Shaquille O’Neal and guard Anfernee “Penny” Hardaway. Looking ahead, they would return to the Finals in 2009, led by center Dwight Howard and a cast of solid role players. Although they lost both Finals series, the Magic have had a number of impressive seasons throughout their history.

Orlando’s Defining Moments

One of the defining moments in Magic history was the acquisition of Tracy McGrady in 2000. Over the years, McGrady had developed into a star with the Toronto Raptors. Also, he was coming off his second consecutive scoring title. He joined the Magic and had an immediate impact. Eventually, he went on to lead the league in scoring for two straight seasons. McGrady formed a formidable partnership with Dwight Howard. In the end, the Magic became one of the most exciting teams in the league.

In recent years, the Magic have struggled to maintain their success. They have had a number of high draft picks, including Victor Oladipo, Aaron Gordon, and Mo Bamba. Yet, they have not been able to turn those picks into sustained success on the court. They have also been plagued by injuries to key players, including Jonathan Isaac and Markelle Fultz.

Despite their struggles, the Magic have a loyal fanbase and a number of notable players in their history. Shaquille O’Neal remains one of the most popular players in the franchise’s history. On the other hand, Dwight Howard still remains a dominant force in his prime. More recent players like Nikola Vucevic and Evan Fournier have been solid contributors. Yet, the Magic will need to find a way to build a winning team if they hope to return to the top of the league.

* All odds provided by Action247 Sportsbook and all odds subject to change.