arizona cardinals betting

History of the Arizona Cardinals

The Cardinals as an NFL franchise are one of the oldest in the NFL. They are an original NFL team from 1920, beginning their existence in Chicago. It was also those years in Chicago when they had their greatest success, winning championships in 1925 and 1947.

The Cardinals played in St. Louis from 1960 to 1987. Then moved to Arizona for the 1988 season, first playing as the Phoenix Cardinals. Then becoming the Arizona Cardinals in 1994.

The Cardinals did play in Super Bowl XLIII, led by Hall of Fame quarterback Kurt Warner. But after averaging 32 points per game in their three playoff games to get to the Super Bowl. The Arizona offense managed just 23 points, and lost to the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Cardinals Successes and Championships

The Cardinals were a playoff team last season, losing in the Wild Card to the eventual Super Bowl-champion Rams. They last appeared in the NFC Championship Game seven years ago. Losing to Cam Newton and the Panthers. But overall the Cardinals have been one of the least successful franchises in NFL history. They have never made the playoffs more than two years straight. Having accomplished that streak only three times in history.

The Cardinals, despite their overall losing record, have had a number of great players come through the franchise.

Kurt Warner is an obvious mention as the only quarterback in franchise history to lead them to the Super Bowl. Hall of Fame Safety Larry Wilson is one of the very best to play the position. He won Defensive Player of the Year in 1966 and was named to the NFL’s 100th Anniversary All-Time team. Hall of Fame tackle Dan Dierdorf is also a Cardinals great, making five First-team All-Pros during his 13-year career.

NFL Big Changes from Last Season – Arizona Cardinals

Perhaps the biggest change for the Cardinals from 2021 to 2022 is the big dollar commitment they’ve now made to franchise quarterback Kyler Murray. In July he signed a $230 million contract extension that includes $105 million in guaranteed money.

Murray and the Cardinals ended 2021 on a down note, having lost four of their last five in the regular season to lose the NFC West title, and then lose badly to the Rams in the playoffs, 34-11. Following that loss in L.A. there were some questions about the future of Murray and if in fact he was the guy to keep leading the Cardinals.

Obviously owner Michael Bidwell and general manager Steve Keim believe he is the leader for the future, and Arizona is now all-in on Murray.

Big Changes for the Cardinals

Another big change for Arizona this season is the depth chart at wide receiver. Christian Kirk has moved on to Jacksonville, and with a draft day trade the Cardinals added former Ravens wide receiver Hollywood Brown. Murray and Brown were college teammates at Oklahoma, and both players have talked about the excitement they feel at rekindling that connection.

Brown will be an especially important addition this season, since Deandre Hopkins is suspended for the first six games of the season.

Arizona spent its first round pick on the trade for Brown, and then used their second round pick on Colorado State tight end Trey McBride. The team still has Zach Ertz, but McBride was considered to be the top available tight end, and with his versatility inside, outside, in the backfield, or as an inline blocker, he will play significant minutes as a rookie before he eventually takes over the position.

In the third round they picked up a pair of EDGE rushers in San Diego State’s Cameron Thomas and Cincinnati’s Myjai Sanders, with the hopes that they can fill in for the departed Chandler Jones.

* All odds provided by Action247 Sportsbook and all odds subject to change.

NFC West

san francisco 49ers betting

los angeles rams betting

seattle seahawks betting

national football league betting