ottawa senators

History of the Ottawa Senators 

The Ottawa Senators are a professional ice hockey team based in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. In addition, they are part of the Atlantic Division in the Eastern Conference. The team was founded in 1990 as part of the NHL’s expansion into Canada. Finally, the began playing its first season in 1992.

Early Years 

The Senators struggled during their early years, failing to make the playoffs in their first four seasons. However, the team began to turn things around in the late 1990s. This was all thanks in large part to the play of star players such as Daniel Alfredsson, Alexei Yashin, and Radek Bonk.

In 2003, the Senators made it to the Stanley Cup Finals for the first time in franchise history. Yet, ultimately they lost to the New Jersey Devils in seven games. Despite the disappointment of that loss, the Senators’ run to the Finals was seen as a major achievement for the team.

The Senators continued to be a competitive force in the NHL throughout the 2000s. The team made the playoffs 11 times between 1997 and 2012. During this time, the team had several notable players on its roster. Some players included Dany Heatley, Jason Spezza, and Erik Karlsson.

Recent Years 

In recent years, the Senators have struggled to recapture the success of their earlier years. The team has missed the playoffs in four of the past five seasons. Additionally, they have undergone a significant rebuilding process aimed at developing young talent for the future.

Despite the team’s recent struggles, the Senators remain a beloved and important part of the Ottawa community. The team’s commitment to developing young talent makes it a team to watch in the coming years. They are sure to impress!

* All odds provided by Action247 Sportsbook and all odds subject to change.