NHL Eastern Conference

NHL Eastern Conference History

The National Hockey League’s Eastern Conference is one of two conferences in the NHL, alongside the NHL Western Conference. The Eastern Conference also has a rich and storied history that dates back to the earliest days of professional hockey. In the Eastern Conference, there is the Metropolitan Division and the Atlantic Division

The Eastern Conference was originally formed in 1974 as the Prince of Wales Conference. In the end, it was named after the Prince of Wales Trophy, which was awarded to the conference champion. Overall, the conference consisted of teams from the Eastern United States and Canada. This included the Montreal Canadiens, Boston Bruins, New York Rangers, and Philadelphia Flyers, among others.

Over the years, the Eastern Conference has undergone several changes. This includes the addition of expansion teams like the Tampa Bay Lightning and the Florida Panthers in the 1990s. Additionally, the conference has also seen its fair share of dominant teams and legendary players. For example, the Pittsburgh Penguins who were led by Mario Lemieux, and the New York Islanders dynasty of the 1980s.

In 1993, the conference was renamed the Eastern Conference to reflect its broader geographical scope. Finally, the Prince of Wales Trophy was rebranded as the trophy awarded to the conference champion in the NHL playoffs.

Eastern Conference Today

Today, the Eastern Conference remains a fiercely competitive division of the NHL. They also feature some of the league’s most exciting teams and players. From the Boston Bruins to the Tampa Bay Lightning, the Eastern Conference is home to some of the most passionate fan bases in hockey. In the end, they continue to be a major force in the world of professional sports.

In conclusion, the history of the National Hockey League’s Eastern Conference is a testament to the enduring legacy of professional hockey. Ultimately, it is also a testament to the dedicated fans and players who make the sport so exciting. In conclusion, whether you’re a die-hard fan or a casual observer, the Eastern Conference is a division that will always be worth watching. 

National Hockey League Eastern Conference

Boston Bruins

Maple Leafs

tampa bay lightning

florida panthers

buffalo sabres

ottawa senators

Detriot redwings

Montreal Canadiens

carolina hurricanes

new jersey devils

new york rangers

pittsburgh pengins

washington capitals

philadelphia flyers

Columbus Blue Jacket

New York Islanders

* All odds provided by Action247 Sportsbook and all odds subject to change.
**All views expressed are my own. My picks are my own and are not a guarantee, bet at your own risk.