NHL Atlantic Division Logo

NHL Atlantic Division History

The Atlantic Division was formed in 1993 and is part of the Eastern Conference. In addition, they were formed as part of the NHL’s expansion into Florida. Next, the division originally consisted of the Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres, Hartford Whalers, Montreal Canadiens, Ottawa Senators, Quebec Nordiques, and the Tampa Bay Lightning.

Over the years, the division has seen an overall number of changes. Currently, the Atlantic Division is made up of eight teams: the Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres, Detroit Red Wings, Florida Panthers, Montreal Canadiens, Ottawa Senators, Tampa Bay Lightning, and the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Throughout its history, the Atlantic Division has been home to some of the NHL’s most legendary players and memorable moments. The Montreal Canadiens, one of the league’s most successful franchises, have won the division title the most times.  The Boston Bruins have also been a perennial powerhouse in the division. 

Recent Years

In recent years, the Tampa Bay Lightning has emerged as a dominant force in the Atlantic Division. Meanwhile, they have won the division title many times in the past seasons. Finally, led by stars such as Steven Stamkos, Victor Hedman, and Andrei Vasilevskiy, the Lightning has become a Stanley Cup contender.

No discussion of the Atlantic Division would be complete without mentioning some of the iconic moments and players that have graced the division over the years. From Bobby Orr and Wayne Gretzky to Mario Lemieux, the Atlantic Division has been home to some of the greatest players in NHL history.

 In the end, the Atlantic Division is sure to provide plenty of excitement and nostalgia. Whether you’re a die-hard fan of one of the division’s teams or simply a lover of hockey history, there is something for everyone.  All in all, why not take a trip down memory lane and explore the rich history of this storied division?

National Hockey League Atlantic Division

Boston Bruins

Maple Leafs

tampa bay lightning

florida panthers

buffalo sabres

ottawa senators

Detriot redwings

Montreal Canadiens

* All odds provided by Action247 Sportsbook and all odds subject to change.
**All views expressed are my own. My picks are my own and are not a guarantee, bet at your own risk.