mlb nl east atlanta braves baseball

MLB National League East Atlanta Braves 2022

As defending champions, life is pretty good for Atlanta Braves fans. Still, there is work to be done if they aspire to defend their World Series title.

At 88-73, the Braves won the NL East in 2021; however, teams like the Mets and Phillies will be competitive in what should be a strong NL East in 2022.

Before the MLB lockout, the Braves were able to re-sign pitcher Charlie Morton, reliever Darren O-Day (minor-league contract), catcher Manny Pina, and reliever Kirby Yates.

The Braves still have some major holes to fill, though. First baseman Freddie Freeman is a free agent, and while it seemed as if he would be a Brave for life, there are growing concerns over that.

Other significant free agents include Jorge Soler, Eddie Rosario, Joc Pederson, and Drew Smyly.

Coming off of their championship, expectations are high for Atlanta as they have the seventh-best odds of winning the World Series in 2022.

The team still has a solid nucleus, including Ronald Acuna Jr (rehabbing from an ACL tear), Austin Riley, Ozzie Albies, Max Fried, Ian Anderson, Charlie Morton, and others.

Still, the team has to figure out how to retain Freeman. If they can’t, they could be in the markets for players like Anthony Rizzo (free agent) or Matt Olson (via trade). Regardless, this team is set up to make another run at a championship in 2022 as their championship window is wide open.

MLB National League East Atlanta Braves History

Going back to the National Association, which started in 1871, the Atlanta Braves are one of two original members. Alongside the Chicago Cubs, only these two franchises started in the National Association and later joined the National League when it began in 1876.

While the Braves’ origins go back to the beginning, the franchise has undergone several changes throughout the years. In fact, the franchise initially started as the Boston Red Stockings.

When they joined the National League in 1876, the team name was changed to the Boston Red Caps. From 1876 to 1952, the franchise remained in Boston, although its name changed multiple times consisting of the Red Caps, Beaneaters, Doves, Rustlers, Braves, Bees, and Braves again.

In 1953, the team moved to Milwaukee, where they would remain as the Milwaukee Braves until 1965. Finally, in 1966, the team moved to Atlanta, where they have been known as the Atlanta Braves ever since.

When divisions were created in 1969, the Atlanta Braves were one of the few teams that did not matchup from a geographical standpoint as they were a part of the NL West from 1969 until 1993.

In 1994, when realignment and a central division were added, the Braves moved from the NL West to the NL East, where they have been ever since.

Stemming back to its roots, the Braves franchise is a combined 10,820 – 10,757, good for a .501 winning percentage.

Due to moving cities, the Braves have played in multiple ballparks. In Boston, the team played at South End Grounds (1871-1914), Fenway Park (1914-1915), and Braves Field (1915 – 1952). When the team moved to Milwaukee, they played at Milwaukee County Stadium.

When the Braves finally welcomed Atlanta as their home, they started for the first 30 years at Atlanta-Fulton County Stadium from 1966 to 1996. From 1997 to 2016, they played at Turner Field before finally finishing at their current stadium, Truist Park (2017 to present).