Arizona Coyotes

History of the Arizona Coyotes

The Arizona Coyotes are a professional ice hockey team based in Glendale, Arizona. The team was originally founded in 1972 as the Winnipeg Jets and was one of the founding members of the World Hockey Association (WHA). In 1979, the team joined the National Hockey League (NHL) and moved to Arizona in 1996. They are part of the Central Division of the NHL. 

The team initially struggled in Arizona, finishing last in their division for several years. However, they began to see success in the early 2000s. In the end, they made the playoffs in five consecutive seasons between 2002 and 2007. During this period, the Coyotes were led by standout players such as Keith Tkachuk, Jeremy Roenick, and Shane Doan.

Despite this success on the ice, the Coyotes have faced a number of challenges off the ice. The team has struggled with financial difficulties and ownership issues for many years. In addition, they have often been the subject of relocation rumors.

In recent years, the Coyotes have made a concerted effort to build a stronger foundation for the franchise. They have invested in new facilities, including the Gila River Arena, and have worked to build a more competitive team.

Building a Brighter Future

Today, the Coyotes are looking to build a brighter future for the franchise. They have a dedicated fan base and a commitment to success. All in all, the Arizona Coyotes are sure to continue to be a major player in the NHL for years to come.

Overall, the history of the Arizona Coyotes is a story of both struggle and success. Despite facing significant challenges, the team has persevered. Overall, they have remained a fixture in the NHL for over four decades. Whether you’re a lifelong fan or a casual observer, there’s no denying the impact that this legendary franchise has had.

* All odds provided by Action247 Sportsbook and all odds subject to change.