Boston Bruins

History of the Boston Bruins

The Boston Bruins are a professional ice hockey team based in Boston, Massachusetts. They were founded in 1924 and are one of the oldest teams in the NHL. The Bruins have a rich and storied history, having won six Stanley Cup championships over the course of their existence. Additionally, they are part of the Atlantic Division

The Bruins’ early years were marked by success. Then, they won their first Stanley Cup championship in just their third season. Led by legendary players such as Eddie Shore, Dit Clapper, and Tiny Thompson, the Bruins became one of the most dominant teams of the 1920s and 1930s.

In the 1940s, the Bruins were hit hard by the Second World War, losing many of their top players to military service. However, they rebounded in the 1950s. They had the addition of star forward Milt Schmidt, who would go on to become one of the greatest players in franchise history.

The 1960s and 1970s were a period of great success for the Bruins. During this time, they won two Stanley Cup championships and featured some of the game’s greatest players. Some included Bobby Orr, Phil Esposito, and Johnny Bucyk. Orr, in particular, is considered by many to be the greatest defenseman in NHL history. In the end, his spectacular play helped to revolutionize the game.

In the 1980s and 1990s, the Bruins continued to be a competitive team, but were unable to capture another championship. However, they did feature some notable players during this time. These included Ray Bourque, Cam Neely, and Adam Oates.

Recent Years

The 21st century has seen the Bruins once again become one of the NHL’s elite teams. Led by star players such as Zdeno Chara, Patrice Bergeron, and Brad Marchand, the Bruins have made multiple trips to the Stanley Cup Finals. They have also captured another championship in 2011.

Overall, the Boston Bruins are one of the NHL’s most successful and storied franchises. With a long and proud history of success, the Bruins are sure to remain a beloved and respected team for years to come.

* All odds provided by Action247 Sportsbook and all odds subject to change.