NHL Metropolitan Division Logo

NHL Metropolitan Division History

In the beginning, the NHL’s Metropolitan Division was created in 2013 as part of the league’s realignment plan. Then, prior to the 2013-2014 season, the league was divided into six divisions, with each division containing five or six teams. However, as part of the realignment, the league was split into four divisions: the Atlantic, Central, Pacific, and Metropolitan.

Overall, the Metropolitan Division is made up of eight teams. There are the Carolina Hurricanes, Columbus Blue Jackets, New Jersey Devils, New York Islanders, New York Rangers, Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins, and Washington Capitals.

Since its creation, the Metropolitan Division has been one of the most competitive divisions in the NHL. 

Over the years, the Metropolitan Division has produced some of the NHL’s most memorable moments. First, in 2016, the Pittsburgh Penguins won their fourth Stanley Cup championship after defeating the San Jose Sharks in the Stanley Cup Final. Additionally, the Penguins’ road to the Cup included a thrilling seven-game series against the Washington Capitals in the second round of the playoffs.

In 2019, the Carolina Hurricanes made a surprising run to the Eastern Conference Final, where meanwhile, they were ultimately defeated by the Boston Bruins. In the end, the Hurricanes’ playoff run was highlighted by their “Storm Surge” celebrations. Meanwhile, this became a viral sensation and endeared the team to fans around the league.

Overall, the Metropolitan Division has become one of the most competitive and exciting divisions in the NHL. All in all, they have a mix of talented teams and passionate fan bases. In the end, the division is sure to continue producing thrilling hockey for years to come.

National Hockey League Metropolitan Division

carolina hurricanes

new jersey devils

new york rangers

pittsburgh pengins

washington capitals

philadelphia flyers

Columbus Blue Jacket

New York Islanders

* All odds provided by Action247 Sportsbook and all odds subject to change.
**All views expressed are my own. My picks are my own and are not a guarantee, bet at your own risk.